Header Ads

21 New Cities in the Philippines?

The League of Cities of the Philippines (LCP) is endorsing the conversion into cities of 21 municipalities that have already met the requirements for cityhood set by Constitution and the Local Government Code. The list of municipalities from various parts of the country below have already qualified for cityhood based on the standards set by law:
  1. Cabuyao, Laguna
  2. San Pedro, Laguna
  3. Cainta, Rizal
  4. Taytay, Rizal
  5. Binangonan, Rizal
  6. Bacoor, Cavite
  7. Gen. Trias, Cavite
  8. Imus, Cavite
  9. Carmona, Cavite
  10. Silang, Cavite
  11. San Pedro, Laguna
  12. Pantabangan, Nueva Ecija
  13. Calaca, Batangas
  14. Sto. Tomas, Batangas
  15. Bauan, Batangas
  16. Nasugbu, Batangas
  17. Mauban, Quezon
  18. Marilao, Bulacan
  19. Sta. Maria, Bulacan
  20. Norzagaray, Bulacan
  21. Limay, Bataan

Imus, Bacoor and Cabuyao have pending cityhood application in Congress, but the 18 others are still waiting for their congressmen to file cityhood bills on their behalf.

LCP President Oscar Rodriguez, mayor of San Fernando City, Pampanga, said their group would be firm in opposing the conversion into cities of 16 other municipalities recently granted cityhood status by the Supreme Court. These municipalities are:
  1. Batac, Ilocos Norte
  2. Tabuk, Kalinga
  3. Tayabas, Quezon
  4. Baybay, Leyte
  5. Catbalogan, Samar
  6. Borongan, Eastern Samar
  7. Guihulngan, Negros Oriental
  8. Bogo, Cebu
  9. Naga, Cebu
  10. Carcar, Cebu
  11. Tandag, Surigao del Sur
  12. Cabadbaran, Agusan del Norte
  13. El Salvador, Misamis Oriental
  14. Mati, Davao Oriental
  15. Bayugan, Agusan del Sur
  16. Lamitan, Basilan.

How does a municipality become a city?

Under the Local Government Code, as amended by Republic Act 9009 that took effect on June 30, 2007, a municipality may be converted into a component city only if it meets two of three requirements: "locally generated average annual income of P100 million for the last two consecutive years and contiguous territory of at least 100 square kilometers or a population of not less than 150,000 inhabitants."


No comments

Powered by Blogger.